Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Radford Semele Primary School

About our Governors

All Governors are volunteers who work together for the benefit of the school. 

They are:

  • Parents elected by other parents with children at the school; (Parent)
  • The Head teacher  (Staff)
  • Teachers elected by other teachers (Staff)
  • People appointed by the Local Education Authority (LA)
  • People appointed by the local church (Foundation).
  • People with skills or experience that the governing body feel are useful (Co-opted)


What do they do?

The Governing body:

  • Has a statutory responsibility to oversee and monitor the operation and effectiveness of the school.
  • Appoints senior staff and regulates staff and discipline
  • Manages the school budget, ensuring the proper and effective spending of public funds.
  • Promote high standards of educational achievement.
  • Take responsibility for strategic planning,  including post Ofsted action planning.
  • Has responsibility for ensuring that the school fulfils all its statutory responsibilities ,

for example, those relating to Child Protection, Health and Safety, equality legislation and provision for pupils with  Special Educational Needs.

Our Governing Body comprises 12 members: 4 Parent Governors, 1 LA-appointed Governor, 2 Staff Governors (including the Headteacher), 2 Co-opted Governors, and 3 Foundation Governors, who are appointed by the Coventry Diocesan Board of Education.  One of these Foundation posts is for the incumbent of the Church of St Nicholas, Radford Semele.  The Governors are appointed or elected for a term of 4 years.

The Full Governing Body meets at least twice a term. 

All Governors are required to complete regular DBS checks.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor and would like to discuss what it involves, or if you require any further information about the Governing Body, please contact the Clerk, Helen James: or by leaving a message with the school office, 01926 426940




Special responsibility

Term began

Term Ends

Faiyza Anwar



Sept 2016

Sept 2020

Katie Benson

Staff (Head)


Ex officio

Ex Officio

Sarah Barley-Morey



Nov 2016

Nov 2020

Rachel Buckingham



Nov 2016

Nov 2020

Julian Davoile



Nov 2017

Nov 2021

Nicola David



May 2018

May 2022

Marcus Gregory



Nov 2016

Nov 2020

Cara Jenkins



SEN Lead

April 2017

(April 2013)

Apr 2021

Mandy Marriott



Pupil Premium

March 2017 (March 2013)

Mar 2021

Katherine Pickford


Safeguarding Lead

Nov 2017

(July 2011)

Nov 2021

Nadia Savage



EYF Lead

May 2018

(April 2014)

May 2022







Governor Minutes


To view the published minutes of Governors' meetings, please contact the School Office, or the Clerk, Helen James. 

Radford Semele CofE Primary School - Welcome to our new school website! We hope you enjoy your visit.